Fire Protection District

Fire Protection District & Board of Trustees

As Mill Bay and Cobble Hill are not part of a municipality, Mill Bay Fire Department is overseen by the Mill Bay Fire Protection District Board of Trustees. These trustees are nominated and elected by the taxpayers at our Annual General Meeting. While the Fire Chief, Deputy Chief, and Officers are responsible for the day to day operations and administration of the Fire Department, the board of Trustees meet once a month to discuss the bigger fire department picture. This can include items such as approving the annual budget, making large long term purchases including new fire trucks, working to change legal items such as the department’s boundaries, and reviewing the Chief’s reports.

The Board is currently made up of eight members; A chairperson and co-chair, a treasurer/administrator, and five trustees. Each member is nominated and elected and serves a two year term. Board members can serve unlimited consecutive terms.

For general questions or inquiries about Mill Bay Fire Department please contact the Fire Chief or appropriate officer found on the contacts page. For issues such as legal inquires please contact the Board Chairperson.

The Trustees meet every fourth Tuesday of the month at 7:00pm. These meetings are open to the public but we ask that you contact the chairperson before hand to have your attendance added to the agenda.

Mill Bay Fire Protection District Board of Trustees

ChairpersonDavid Slade
Co-ChairpersonDavid Lestock-Kay
Treasurer/AdministratorDebbie Murphy
TrusteesJohn Anderson
Bill Turner
Steve Lonneberg
Andy Limb
Terry Culp
Back to Top