MBFD History

How We Started

Japanese waterwheel. (This photo is Retro style)

The Mill Bay Fire Department, as with others on the coast, started in the early 1940s as Civil Defence Guild Fire Halls. Mill Bay was Guild Hall #30. The first Chiefs that we have been able to find mention of are John Gardom and Fred Bartneck. Gordon Hayes became Chief in Dec 1950, and under his leadership formed The Mill Bay Volunteer Fire Department as part of the Mill Bay Community League. Other Chiefs of this era were Charlie Fitt and George Hauk. In 1963, the Mill Bay Fire Protection District was incorporated under the Water Act by Letters Patent. Since the formation of the Protection District, the first Chief under this jurisdiction was Bob Trousdell 1963-1968, followed by Bill Peters 1968-1975, John Anderson 1975-1980, Dave Atkinson 1980-1988, Darwin Generous 1988, Dave Garnett 1988-1990, Lloyd Rigler 1990-1991, Pete Balding 1991-2002, Don Sparks 2003, Terry Culp 2004-2011, and Ron Beck 2011-present. In 1973, the Water Act was superseded by the Department of Municipal Affairs.

Back to Top